Appendix

Resource Guide

Peace Almanac – https://worldbeyondwar.org/calendar/

Mapping Military Madness Update 2015 – https://worldbeyondwar.org/mapping-military-madness-2015-update/

Where Your Income Tax Money Really Goes- https://www.warresisters.org/resources/pie-chart-flyers-where-your-income-tax-money-really-goes

Peace Science Digest – www.communication.warpreventioninitiative.org

Global Peace Index – http://www.visionofhumanity.org/

Books

Ackerman, Peter, and Jack DuVall, A Force More Powerful: A Century of Nonviolent Conflict (2000).

American Friends Service Committee, Shared Security: Reimagining U.S. Foreign Policy.

(https://afsc.org/sites/afsc.civicactions.net/files/documents/shared-security_web.pdf)

Amster, Randall, Peace Ecology (2014).

Bacevich, Andrew, The new American militarism: how Americans are seduced by war (2005).

Bacevich, Andrew, Washington rules: America’s path to permanent war (2010).

Benjamin, Medea, & Evans, Jodie, Stop the next war now: effective responses to violence and terrorism (2005).

Boulding, Elise, and Randall Forsberg, Abolishing War: Cultures and Institutions (1998).

Boulding, Elise, Cultures of Peace: The Hidden Side of History (2000).

Boyle, Francis Anthony, Defending Civil Resistance Under International Law (1987).

Buchheit, Paul, American Wars: Illusions and Realities (2008).

Burrowes, Robert J. The Strategy of Nonviolent Defense: A Gandhian Approach (1996).

Cady, Duane L., From Warism to Pacifism: A Moral Continuum (2010).

Chappell, Paul, The Art of Waging Peace (2013).

Chenoweth, Erica, and Maria J. Stephan, Why Civil Resistance Works: The Strategic Logic of Nonviolent Conflict (2011).

Cortright, David, Peace. A History of Movements and ideas (2008).

Delgado, Sharon, Shaking the Gates of Hell: Faith-led Resistance to Corporate Globalization (2007).

Dower, John W., Cultures of War: Pearl Harbor / Hiroshima / 9-11 / Iraq (2010).

Faure-Brac, Russell, Transition to Peace: A Defense Engineer’s Search for an Alternative to War (2012).

Fry, Douglas, War, peace, and human nature: the convergence of evolutionary and cultural views (2013).

Galtung, Johan. Abolishing War. Criminalizing War, Removing War Causes, Removing War as Institution (accessed 2016).

Galtung, Johan. A Theory Of Peace. Building Direct-Structural-Cultural Peace (accessed 2016).

Goldstein, Joshua S., Winning the War on War: The Decline of Armed Conflict Worldwide (2011).

Grossman, Dave, On Killing: The Psychological Cost of Learning to Kill in War and Society (1996).

Hand, Judith L., Shift: The Beginning of War, the Ending of War (2014).

Harris, Ian, and Mary Lee Morrison, Peace Education, 3rd ed., (2012).

Hartsough, David, Waging Peace: Global Adventures of a Lifelong Activist (2014).

Hastings, Tom, Ecology of War and Peace: Counting Costs of Conflict (2000).

Hastings, Tom, A New Era of Nonviolence. The Power of Civil Society over War (2014).

Hawken, Paul, Blessed Unrest: How the Largest Movement in the World Came into Being and Why No One Saw It Coming (2007).

Irwin, Robert A., Building a Peace System (1989; free online via HathiTrust).

Kaldor, Mary, Global Civil Society: An Answer to War (2003).

Kelly, Kathy, Other Lands Have Dreams: From Baghdad to Pekin Prison (2005).

Lederach, John Paul, The Moral Imagination: The Art and Soul of Building Peace (2005).

Mahoney, Liam, and Luis Enrique Eguren, Unarmed Bodyguards: International Accompaniment for the Protection of Human Rights (1997).

Marr, Andrew, Tools for Peace: The Spiritual Craft of St. Benedict and Rene Girard (2007).

Mische, Patricia M., and Melissa Merkling, eds., Toward a Global Civilization? The Contribution of Religions (2001).

Myers, Winslow, Living Beyond War. A Citizen’s Guide (2009).

Nagler, Michael, The Search for a Nonviolent Future (2004).

Nelson-Pallmeyer, Jack, Authentic Hope: It’s the End of the World As We Know It But Soft Landings Are Possible (2012).

O’Dea, James, Cultivating Peace: Becoming a 21st-Century Peace Ambassador (2012).

Ricigliano, Rob, Making Peace Last: A Toolbox for Sustainable Peacebuilding (2012).

Schwartzberg, Joseph E., Transforming the United Nations System (2013).

Sharp, Gene, Waging Nonviolent Struggle (2005),

Sharp, Gene, The Politics of nonviolent Action (1973)

Sharp, Gene, Civilian-Based Defense: A Post-Military Weapons System (1990) available at http://www.aeinstein.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Civilian-Based-Defense-English.pdf

Shierd, Kent, From War to Peace: A Guide to the Next Hundred Years (2011).

Solomon, Norman. War Made Easy: How Presidents and Pundits Keep Spinning Us to Death. (2010)

Somlai, Anton, Peace Vigil: Living Without Hesitation (2009).

Swanson, David, War No More: The Case for Abolition (2013).

Swanson, David, When the World Outlawed War (2011).

Swanson, David, War is a Lie (2nd Ed., 2016).

Thompson, J. Milburn, Justice & Peace: A Christian Primer (2003).

Williams, Jody, Goose, Stephen., & Wareham, Mary. Banning landmines: disarmament, citizen diplomacy, and human security (2008).

Movies

A Bold Peace

A Force More Powerful

Bringing Down a Dictator

Orange Revolution

Pray the Devil Back to Hell

Paying the Price of Peace

A Sampling of other Peace Organizations on the World Wide Web

Albert Einstein Institution, www.aeinstein.org

American Friends Service Committee, www.afsc.org

Campaign to Close All Military Bases, www.tni.org/primer/foreign-military-bases-and-global-campaign-close-them

Campaign Nonviolence, www.paceebene.org/programs/campaign-nonviolence

Carter Center, www.cartercenter.org/peace/index.html

Christian Peacemaker Teams, www.cpt.org

Citizens for Global Solutions, www.globalsolutions.org

Conflict Resolution Center International, www.conflictres.org

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, www.carnegieendowment.org

Coalition For Peace Action, www.peacecoalition.org/campaigns/peace-economy.html

Coalition for the International Criminal Court, www.iccnow.org

CodePink, www.codepink.org

Fellowship Of Reconciliation, www.forusa.org

Greenpeace, www.greenpeace.org

Hague Appeal For Peace, www.haguepeace.org

Human Rights Watch, www.hrw.org

Institute for Inclusive Security, www.inclusivesecurity.org

Institute for Multi-Track Diplomacy, www.imtd.org

International Center for Nonviolent Conflict, www.nonviolent-conflict.org

International Civil Society Action Network, http://www.icanpeacework.org

International Fellowship of Reconciliation, www.ifor.org

International Peace Research Association, www.iprapeace.org

International Peace Bureau, www.ipb.org

International Network for the Abolition of Foreign Military Bases, www.causes.com/nobases

Jewish Peace Fellowship, www.jewishpeacefellowship.org

Meiklejohn Civil Liberties Institute, www.mcli.org

Metta Center for Nonviolence, www.mettacenter.org

Muslim Peacemaker Teams Iraq, www.mpt-iraq.org

National Peace Foundation, www.nationalpeace.org

Nobel Women’s Initiative, www.nobelwomensinitiative.com

Nonviolence International, www.nonviolenceinternational.net

Nonviolent Peaceforce, www.nonviolentpeaceforce.org

Nukewatch, www.nukewatch.com

Oxfam International, www.oxfam.org

Pace e Bene, www.paceebene.org

Peace Action Training and Research Institute of Romania (PATRIR), www.patrir.ro/en

Pax Christi, www.paxchristiusa.org

Peace Action, www.peace-action.org

Peace Brigades International, www.peacebrigades.org

Peace And Justice Studies Association, www.peacejusticestudies.org

Peace Direct, www.peacedirect.org

Peace People, www.peacepeople.com

PeaceVoice, www.peacevoice.info

The People’s Charter to Create a Nonviolent World, www.thepeoplesnonviolencecharter.wordpress.com

Ploughshares Fund, www.ploughshares.org

Rotarian Action Group for Peace, www.rotarianactiongroupforpeace.org

Transcend International, www.transcend.org

United for Peace and Justice, www.unitedforpeace.org

United Nations Association of the United States (UNA/USA), www.unausa.org

Veterans for Peace, www.veteransforpeace.org

Waging Nonviolence, www.wagingnonviolence.org

Women’s Action for New Directions, www.wand.org

War Prevention Initiative, www.warpreventioninitiative.org

War Resisters League, www.warresisters.org

War Resisters International, www.wri-irg.org

Women’s International League for Peace and freedom, www.wilpfinternational.org

World Federalist Movement, www.igp.org

World Parliament, www.worldparliament-gov.org/home

… and the many, many wonderful organizations we cannot list here. You are part of the movement to end all war. We are one!

Please Note this is a work in progress and will always be a living document. We invite any and all to comment, critique and help to improve it.

Back to Table of Contents of 2016 A Global Security System: An Alternative to War.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Search WorldBeyondWar.org

Sign Up for Antiwar News & Action Emails

Translate To Any Language