Salma Yusuf ist Mitglied von World BEYOND WarBeirat. Sie ist eine Anwältin in Sri Lanka und eine Beraterin für globale Menschenrechte, Friedenskonsolidierung und Übergangsjustiz, die Dienstleistungen für Organisationen auf internationaler, regionaler und nationaler Ebene erbringt, darunter für Regierungen, multilaterale und bilaterale Organisationen, internationale und nationale Zivilgesellschaften, Nichtregierungsorganisationen Organisationen, regionale und nationale Institutionen.

Sie war in verschiedenen Rollen und Funktionen tätig, als nationale und internationale Aktivistin der Zivilgesellschaft, Dozentin und Forscherin an der Universität, Journalistin und Meinungskolumnistin und zuletzt als Beamtin der Regierung von Sri Lanka, wo sie den Entwurfsprozess leitete Entwicklung der ersten nationalen Versöhnungspolitik Sri Lankas, die die erste in Asien ist.

Sie hat zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen in Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht, darunter im Seattle Journal of Social Justice, im Sri Lanka Journal of International Law, im Frontiers of Legal Research, im American Journal of Social Welfare and Human Rights, im Journal of Human Rights im Commonwealth und im International Affairs Review in Harvard Asia Quarterly und The Diplomat.

Salma Yusuf stammt aus einer „dreifachen Minderheit“ - nämlich ethnischen, religiösen und sprachlichen Minderheitengemeinschaften - und hat ihr Erbe in professionellen Scharfsinn umgesetzt, indem sie ein hohes Maß an Empathie für Missstände, ein ausgeklügeltes und differenziertes Verständnis für Herausforderungen und interkulturelle Sensibilität entwickelt hat auf die Bestrebungen und Bedürfnisse von Gesellschaften und Gemeinschaften, mit denen sie zusammenarbeitet, um die Ideale von Menschenrechten, Recht, Gerechtigkeit und Frieden zu verfolgen.

Sie ist derzeit sitzendes Mitglied des Commonwealth Women Mediators Network.

Sie hat einen Master of Laws in internationalem öffentlichem Recht von der Queen Mary University of London und einen Bachelor of Laws Honours von der University of London. Sie wurde zur Rechtsanwältin berufen und als Rechtsanwältin am Obersten Gerichtshof von Sri Lanka zugelassen.

Sie hat spezialisierte Stipendien an der University of Toronto, der University of Canberra und der American University of Washington abgeschlossen.

 

Suchen Sie in WorldBeyondWar.org

Melden Sie sich für Antiwar News & Action Emails an

In jede Sprache übersetzen

Salma Yusuf

Salma Yusuf is a member of World BEYOND War’s Advisory Board. She is a Sri Lankan Lawyer and a Global Human Rights, Peace-building and Transitional Justice Consultant providing services to organizations at the international, regional, and national levels including to governments, multilateral and bilateral agencies, international and national civil society, non-governmental organizations, regional and national institutions.

She has served in multiple roles and capacities from being a Civil Society activist nationally and internationally, a University Lecturer and Researcher, a Journalist and Opinion Columnist, and most recently a Public Official of the Government of Sri Lanka where she led the process of drafting and developing of Sri Lanka’s first National Policy on Reconciliation which is the first in Asia.

She has published extensively in scholarly journals including at the Seattle Journal of Social Justice, Sri Lanka Journal of International Law, Frontiers of Legal Research, American Journal of Social Welfare and Human Rights, Journal of Human Rights in the Commonwealth, International Affairs Review, Harvard Asia Quarterly and The Diplomat.

Hailing from a “triple minority” background – namely, ethnic, religious and linguistic minority communities – Salma Yusuf has translated her heritage into professional acumen by developing a high degree of empathy to grievances, sophisticated and nuanced understanding of challenges, and cross-cultural sensitivity to the aspirations and needs of societies and communities she works with, in the pursuit of the ideals of human rights, law, justice and peace.

She is a current sitting Member of the Commonwealth Women Mediators Network.

She has a Master of Laws in Public International Law from Queen Mary University of London and a Bachelor of Laws Honours from University of London. She was called to the Bar and has been admitted as an Attorney-at-Law of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka.

She has completed specialized fellowships at University of Toronto, University of Canberra, and American University of Washington.

 

Search WorldBeyondWar.org

Sign Up for Antiwar News & Action Emails

Translate To Any Language