Resources on Closing Foreign Military Bases

Foreign Military Bases: Resources

Compiled by David Vine, Associate Professor, American University, Washington, DC, USA. Questions, comments, additions: vine@american.edu. For more information as well as books and articles about bases, see www.basenation.us and www.davidvine.net.

General Resources

-Base Nation: How U.S. Military Bases Abroad Harm America and the World: basenation.us -Base Websites (e.g., www.ramstein.af.mil): usually accessible online; search by name/location -Base Public Affairs Offices: contact information generally accessible online
-Department of Defense “Base Structure Reports”: www.acq.osd.mil/ie

-General Global News: GlobalSecurity.org
-List of U.S. Military Bases Abroad, 2016 (excel file): http://dx.doi.org/10.17606/M6H599 -Maps of U.S. Military Bases Abroad: www.basenation.us/maps.html
-Maps of U.S. Military Bases: MilitaryBases.com
-Militarism Watch: forusa.org/groups/services/militarism-watch
-Military Installations [Department of Defense]: www.militaryinstallations.dod.mil -“Mission Creep,” Mother Jones magazine series on foreign military bases:
http://ww w. mo t her jo nes.co m/po l it ics /2008/08 /tab le – conte nts
-Security Assistance Monitor: www.securityassistance.org

Base Conversion and Alternatives

-Base Tuono [Italy]: www.basetuono.it/en
-Bonn International Center for Conversion: www.bicc.de
-Closure list for bases overseas, by Carlton Meyer: www.g2mil.com/OBCL.htm -Department of Defense Office of Economic Adjustment: www.oea.gov -Institute for Policy Studies: www.ips-dc.org/projects/peace-economy-transitions -Presidio of San Francisco Trust: www.presidio.gov

Base Social Movements

-Transnational Institute (TNI): www.tni.org/archives/act/17124
-TNI Primer: www.tni.org/primer/foreign-military-bases-and-global-campaign-close-them

Africa

-America’s Codebook: Africa: codebookafrica.wordpress.com
-“Camp Justice” documentary about Diego Garcia and US bases abroad; also on iTunes) -Chagos Refugees Group [Diego Garcia]: chagosrefugeesgroup.org
-Diego Garcia: Island of Shame: The Secret History of the U.S. Military Base on Diego Garcia -Lalit de Klas [Mauritius/Diego Garcia]: www.lalitmauritius.org
-Let Us Return USA [Chagossians/Diego Garcia]: LetUsReturnUSA.org
-“New Atlantis Project: A Story of the People of the Chagos Islands” [Diego Garcia]:
newatlant ispro ject.co m
-Resist Africom: http://org.salsalabs.com/o/1552/t/5734/content.jsp?content_KEY=3855
-UK Chagos Support Association [Diego Garcia]: www.chagossupport.org.uk

Asia

-Anti-Bases Campaign Australia: www.anti-bases.org -Close the Base [Okinawa]: closethebase.org
-Ghosts of Jeju: www.theghostsofjeju.net
-Guam and CNMI: See “United States” below.]

-My Sister’s Place (Durebang) [South Korea]: durebang.org
-National Campaign for Eradication of Crimes by U.S. Troops in Korea: www.usacrime.or.kr -No Base Stories Korea: nobasestorieskorea.blogspot.com
-Peace Philosophy Centre blog [Japan]: peacephilosophy.blogspot.com
-ROK Drop blog: www.rokdrop.net
-Save Jeju [South Korea]: www.savejeju.org and www.savejejunow.org
-Save Life Center [Henoko, Okinawa]: www.geocities.jp/nobasehenoko
-Solidarity for Peace and Reunification of Korea: www.spark946.org
-Takae blog [Okinawa]: takae.ti-da.net
-US for Okinawa: us-for-okinawa.blogspot.com
-Working Group for Peace, Demilitarization in Asia, Pacific: www.asiapacificinitiative.org

Europe

-Antonio Mazzeo’s blog [Italy]: antoniomazzeoblog.blogspot.com -Bombspotting [Belgium]: www.vredesactie.be/en
-Comitato Pace e Disarmo Campania [Naples, Italy]: www.pacedisarmo.org -Campaign for the Accountability of American Bases [UK]: www.caab.org.uk -DFG-VK [Germany]: www.dfg-vk.de

-Etz Langt’s [Ansbach, Germany]: www.etz-langts.de
-GI Café Germany: www.gicafegermany.com
-Global Peace and Justice Coalition [Turkey]: www.kureselbak.org
-No Dal Molin [Vicenza, Italy]: nodalmolin.it/ and nodalmolin.it/English -NoMUOS[Sicily, Italy]: nomuos.org/en
-Shannon Watch [Ireland]: www.shannonwatch.org
-Stop Ramstein! Campaign: www.ramstein-kampagne.eu

Latin America

-Colombia No Bases Coalition: colombianobases.org
-COPINH[Honduras]: www.copinh.org
-School of the Americas Watch: www.soaw.org
-Vieques Vive La Lucha Continua [Puerto Rico]: facebook.com/viequesvive

United States

-DMZ Hawaii / Aloha ‘Aina: www.dmzhawaii.org
-Global Network against Weapons and Nuclear Power in Space: space4peace.org
-Guam Chamber of Commerce: www.guamchamber.com.gu/committees/armed-forces-committee -Save Pagan Island [Northern Mariana Islands]: savepaganisland.org
-Women for Genuine Security: www.genuinesecurity.org
-We Are Guahan [Guam]: weareguahan.com

Environmental Damage

-Agent Orange on Okinawa: www.jonmitchellinjapan.com/agent-orange-on-okinawa.html -Center for Public Environmental Oversight: www.cpeo.org

Family Members of Military Personnel

-Blue Star Families: www.bluestarfam.org
-Department of Defense Military One Source: www.militaryonesource.mil/phases-family-life -Military Families Speak Out: www.militaryfamiliesspeakout.com
-National Military Families Association: www.militaryfamily.org
-Yellow Ribbon Support Foundation: www.yellowribbonsupport.com

Film

-Camp Justice [Diego Garcia]: Available on iTunes
-The Insular Empire: America in the Mariana Islands: theinsularempire.blogspot.com -Ghosts of Jeju: www.theghostsofjeju.net
-Living Along the Fenceline: alongthefenceline.com
-Occupy Turkey: Resistance in the Baseworld: amyaustinholmes.com/film -Restrepo: restrepothemovie.com
-Standing Army: www.snagfilms.com/films/title/standing_army
-Stealing a Nation [Diego Garcia]: johnpilger.com/videos/stealing-a-nation

Government Resources

-Government Accountability Office: http://www.gao.gov/browse/topic/National_Defense -Congressional Research Service: https://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/
-Congressional Budget Office: https://www.cbo.gov/topics/defense-and-national-security -House Armed Services Committees: https://armedservices.house.gov/

-Senate Armed Services Committees: http://www.armed-services.senate.gov/
-U.S. Air Force Historical Research Agency: www.afhra.af.mil
-U.S. Army Center for Military History: www.history.army.mil
-U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Office of History: www.usace.army.mil/About/History.aspx -U.S. Marine Corps History Division: www.mcu.usmc.mil/historydivision/SitePages/Home.aspx -U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command: www.history.navy.mil

Maps, Museums, Photography

-Civil Rights Struggle, African-American GIs, and Germany: www.aacvr-germany.org -“Fifty-One US Military Outposts”: mishkahenner.com/filter/works/Fifty-One-US-Military- Outposts
-Google Earth map of the world’s foreign bases: www.tni.org//archives/act/17252 -Guantánamo Public Memory Project: gitmomemory.org

-“Limit Telephotography” [domestic U.S. Bases]: www.paglen.com/?l=work&s=limit -“New Atlantis Project: A Story of the People of the Chagos Islands” [Diego Garcia]: newatlant ispro ject.co m
-Rendition Project: www.therenditionproject.org.uk

-“Traces of the Soviet Empire” [former Soviet Bases]: www.ericlusito.com
-“United Bases of America” map: news.nationalpost.com/2011/10/28/graphic-mapping-a-

superpower-sized- military
-“U.S. Drone and Surveillance Flight Bases in Africa”: publicintelligence.net/us-drones-in-africa -“U.S. Empire” map: www.radicalcartography.net/index.html?usempire

Military Spending, Contracting, and Contractor Abuse

-Blog: MsSparky.com
-Costs of National Security Trade-offs: www.nationalpriorities.org/interactive-data/trade-offs -Department of Defense Budget Materials: comptroller.defense.gov/BudgetMaterials.aspx -Department of Defense Contract Announcements: www.defense.gov/contracts
-House of Representatives Military Construction Subcommittee:

appropriations. ho use. go v/ s ubco mm it tees /s ubco m mitte e/?I ss ueI D=35986
-Senate Military Construction Subcommittee: appropriations.senate.gov/subcommittees/military- constructio n- veter a ns- a ffa irs- and- re lated- a ge nc ies
-Special Commission on Wartime Contracting: www.wartimecontracting.gov [archived] -Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction: www.sigar.mil
-Special Inspector General for Iraq Reconstruction: www.sigir.mil [archived]

Sexual Assault

-Department of Defense Safe Helpline: www.safehelpline.org or call 1-877-995-5247
-Department of Defense Sexual Assault Prevention and Response: www.sapr.mil
– Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN): rainn.org/types-of-sexual-assault/military-sexual- trauma
-Service Women’s Action Network: servicewomen.org

U.S. Veterans

-Armor Down: armordown.com
-American Addiction Centers: americanaddictioncenters.org/rehab-guide/veterans-resources -Department of Labor Veterans’ Employment and Training Service: www.dol.gov/vets -Department of Veterans Affairs Resource Directory: www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits/nrd
-Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans Association Referral Program: iava.org/rrrp-contact-us
-Iraq Veterans against the War: www.ivaw.org
-Mindful Memorial Day: mindfulmemorialday.org
-Service Members, Veterans, and Families Assistance Center: www.samhsa.gov/smvf-ta-center -Soldiers Project [free, confidential therapy for veterans, families]: www.thesoldiersproject.org -Veterans Crisis Line: www.veteranscrisisline.net or call 1-800-273-8255 and press 1 -Veterans for Peace: veteransforpeace.org

War and Its Costs

-American Friends Service Committee: afsc.org/key-issues/issue/peace-policy-advocacy -CodePink: codepink.org/bring_our_war_dollars_home
-Costs of War project: costsofwar.org
-Global Campaign on Military Spending: demilitarize.org

-“Move the Money”: peace-action.org/issues/move-the-money -World beyond War: worldbeyondwar.org
-War costs spending counters: nationalpriorities.org/cost-of

PDF

David Vine’s presentation on bases at #NoWar2016: PDF.

2 Responses

  1. Hello and thank you for contacting us! Can you be more specific about what you want to know? The U.S. Military forces is a very big topic, and I will need more information in order to answer you.
    If you have a question about military bases, there are dozens of resources listed on this page.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate To Any Language