Who We Are

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponPrint this page

wbwyellow750World Beyond War is a global nonviolent movement to end war and establish a just and sustainable peace.

We aim to create awareness of popular support for ending war and to further develop that support. We work to advance the idea of not just preventing any particular war but abolishing the entire institution.

We strive to replace a culture of war with one of peace in which nonviolent means of conflict resolution take the place of bloodshed.

While public opinion has moved against war, we intend to seize this moment to crystallize that opinion into a movement that spreads awareness that war can be ended, that its ending is hugely popular, that war should be ended as it endangers rather than protects — and harms rather than benefits — and that there are steps we can and must take to move toward war’s reduction and abolition.

War is not ending on its own. It is being confronted by popular resistance. But too often that resistance takes the form of denouncing one war as unacceptable (in contrast to theoretical good wars), or opposing a war because it leaves a military ill-prepared for other wars, or rejecting a weapon or a tactic as less proper than others, or opposing wasteful military spending in favor of greater efficiency (as if the entire enterprise were not an economic waste and a moral abomination). Our goal is to support steps away from war and to spread understanding of them as just that — steps in the direction of war’s elimination.

Peace is not free.  We need your support if we are to reach all of those who would like to be with us or who can be persuaded to stand with us.

We are building something truly international, connecting people and organizations, and adding support to antiwar endeavors of all kinds around the world. This is a global campaign of education, lobbying, and nonviolent direct action.

Here are quotes from some people involved.

Here are graphics with more quotes from people involved and voices of wisdom from the past.

Here’s our speakers bureau.

Please consider signing on too, if you haven’t already. And add your own quote when you do!

You can write to us at World Beyond War, P.O. Box 1484, Charlottesville VA 22902 USA or contact us here.

Please support our work by sending donations (tax-deductible in the U.S.). Make the check out to World Beyond War/AFGJ. Send donations to: AFGJ 225 E. 26th St. #1, Tucson, AZ 85713, USA, or donate online here using credit card.


World Beyond War is run by committees, which are constantly looking for new members. Please let us know if you’d like to join.

Coordinating Committee currently includes:
Leah Bolger, Chair — U.S.
David Swanson — U.S.
Kent Shifferd — U.S.
Alice Slater — U.S.
Odile Hugonot Haber — U.S.
Robert Fantina — Canada
Dave Webb — U.K.
Ellen Thomas — U.S.
Barry Sweeney — Ireland
Gar Smith — U.S.
Ingrid Style — Canada
Antti Honkasalo — Finland
Donnal Walter — U.S.

Executive Committee currently includes:
Leah Bolger
David Swanson

David Hartsough
David Swanson


David Swanson

Mary Dean

Education Coordinator:
Tony Jenkins

World Beyond War Advisory Board includes:
Mairead Maguire
Kathy Kelly
Kevin Zeese
Gar Smith
Maria Santelli
Gareth Porter
Ann Wright
Medea Benjamin
Johan Galtung
David Hartsough
John Vechey
Patrick Hiller
Matthew Hoh

World Beyond War is adding volunteer coordinators around the world, called Country Coordinators:
Here’s what that means and how you can volunteer.
Link to the country coordinator pages on the righthand side of the website.

Thank you to our many past donors and these recurring donors as of March 1, 2017:
Bart    Bolger
Randall    Wayne
Jim    Bearden
Marie    Lloyd
Howard    Mettee
Donnal    Walter
Chris    Allegri
Ralph    Bolger
Linda    Swanson
Larry    Sherk
William    Ota
John    Fairfield
Jack    Gilroy
Howard    Johnson
Ron    Unger
Alan    Shorb
Delia    McGrath
Adele    Roof
David    Hart
Joann    Smith
Jill    Ballard
ruth    valdez
Fred    Norman
Jospeh    Mitchener
Johann    Goergen
Laura    Soden
Carole    Beckham
Jo Ann    Herbert
Barbara & Harry    Saslow
Gene S    Keyes
Richard     Olson
Lawrence    Hager
Frances    Larson
Sibylle    Barlow
Martin    Haber
Judy    Lewis
Louis    J Casa
Roger    Borjesson
Pat    Palmer
Amalia    Blumsom
Baudouin    Boudart
Susan    Shaw
Sandra A    Ferguson
Richard    Futrell
Beatrice    Dewing
Douglas    Kasper
Preston    Petty
David    Keenan
Marta    Guiloff
Elisabeth    Sommer
Marielle E    King-Mtd
Andrew    Schwarz
Ian    OKidhain
Thomas    Morris
Maria    Steinmann
Helen    Bayes
Nino    DvorÅ¡ak
Peter    Broadwell
Brienne    Kordis
Thomas    Schott
Ernesto Migoya

Special thanks to:
John Vechey
Jubitz Family Foundation
Wallace Action Fund

And thanks to:
Stephen Clemens
Angeliki V. Keil
Deb Sawyer
Wayne Martinson
Medea Benjamin
Peter Selby
Josh Mitteldorf
Robert Barkley
Paddy Welles
William McLaughlin
Nancy Weaver
Arthur Milholland
Robin Lloyd
Helen Alexander

“What I appreciate most about World Beyond War is that it does not ruminate on the pluses and minuses of each military intervention but takes a clear, principled, courageous and unequivocal stand that war is bad, period, and that our job as global citizens is stop all ongoing wars and prevent new ones. This breaks through the fog of ‘humanitarian interventions’ and ‘just wars’ to paint a vision of how we must evolve as a civilization if we are to survive, and that is, precisely, a world beyond war. Bravo!” —Medea Benjamin

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponPrint this page
Translate »